About the Automotive Heritage Awards

The Automotive Heritage Awards are created and produced by Shunpiker Productions of Williamston, Michigan. Shunpiker Productions and Steve Purdy produce words, images, media projects, public relations, and other projects primarily for those to whom an automobile is more than transportation.

The second annual Automotive Heritage Awards will be presented during the Concours d’Elegance of America at St. John’s, Plymouth, Michigan, on show day, July 28th, 2019. The program will be hosted by Brembo in their media hospitality tent. The AHA will fill some of the space left behind by the passing of Tom Kelley who produced and presented the International Automotive Media Competition with the help of many dedicated volunteers. It was a project with a long and respected history. There are other automotive awards programs around the country, each with a different focus. Tom’s was certainly one of the most comprehensive.

Our Focus

Our focus will be on “automotive heritage” themes as described in our mission statement.

We’ve designed our journalism awards program from scratch providing a limited number of categories, understanding that we may alter them from year to year to hone the format. We’ll look to our audience for guidance.

The Concept Vehicle of the Year and Lifetime Achievement honors are similar to those presented in previous years.

We’re honored to host the Future Collectable Vehicle of the Year award, a traditional project of the National Automotive History Collection at the Detroit Public Library. We’ll have some important news about the NAHC at the presentation as well.

Automotive Heritage Awards Sponsors