Peter Egan

2018 Lifetime Achievement Recipient

Gold Recipient

2018 Automotive Heritage Awards

“…long-time monthly columnist for Road & Track Magazine and Cycle World.”

The 2018 AHA Lifetime Achievement honoree is Peter Egan, long-time monthly columnist for Road & Track Magazine and Cycle World. For over three decades, Wisconsin-based Egan has skillfully told a broad variety of stories about vehicles, travels, and people he has met along the way. He was acknowledged by the New York Times Book Review as one of “America’s standout auto writers.” Other honors include: the Motor Press Guild’s Dean Batchelor Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism and the International Motor Press Association’s Ken W. Purdy Award.

Peter Egan exemplifies the AHA’s goal of honoring those who produce the “stories best told.”

About the Lifetime Achievement Award

“The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who has, in the eyes of his or her peers, made a substantial contribution to the craft for a period of twenty-five or more years, and has contributed to the craft through the development and inspiration of automotive journalism’s next generation.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award, historically presented by the International Automotive Media Competition, had honored a person within the broad definition of automotive journalism. Our new version will narrow the focus to those whose are substantially involved in covering the stories and subjects related to automotive history and culture, antique, classic and collectible automobiles, and related topics. Jurors for this award will be former winners, as much as possible.

The physical award is a sculpture by renowned fine artist, Alex Buchan – a bust of Louis Chevrolet. A larger version of the sculpture will be installed as a special display at the LeMay – America’s Car Museum, in Tacoma, Washington.

The 2018 AHA Lifetime Achievement selection was managed by previous honoree, Tony Swan. Jurors include: John Lamm, Ken Gross, John Davis.

Previous Recipients

  • Jesse Alexander
  • Peter Brock
  • David E. Davis, Jr.
  • Jim Dunne
  • Chris Economaki
  • Jerry Flint
  • Ken Gross
  • Beverly Ray Kimes
  • Karl Ludvigsen
  • John Lamm
  • Peter Lyons
  • Leon Mandel
  • Denise McCluggage
  • Tony Swan
  • Brock Yates