Automotive Heritage Awards

Celebrating excellence in the preservation, presentation, understanding and appreciation of automotive heritage.

Continuing the tradition created by our late friend and colleague Tom Kelley, we will present the Automotive Heritage Awards during the Concours dElegance of America at St. John’s in Plymouth, Michigan on show day, July 28, 2018. The Awards program will include four distinct competitions.

Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards

See Award Criteria

Future Collectible Vehicle of the Year

See Award Criteria

Lifetime Achievement Award

See Award Criteria

Concept Vehicle of the Year

See Award Criteria

2018 Competition Results

Our Mission

Our mission is to honor those individuals, organizations and institutions working to preserve, present, appreciate and understand automotive heritage – that is, those involved with automotive history and culture, antique, classic and collectible vehicles, and related fields.

The Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards

Thank you to everyone that participated.

Entries will open soon for the 2019 Journalism Awards. Please think about entering your best work produced for consumption in 2018.

The Awards Program

AUTO HERITAGE MEDIA AWARDS honoring journalists, editors, producers, photographers and others who produce stories focused on automotive history, culture, and aesthetics. Entries will be from print, Web, audio, video, any combination or any other platform. It’s the story-telling we’ll honor.

Award Categories

  • Best Car Culture Story
  • Best Automotive Travel or Adventure Story
  • Best Personality Profile
  • Best Marque-Specific Story
  • Best Facility Story – Museum, Race Track, Proving Grounds, etc.
  • Best Heritage Motorsport Story
  • Best Restoration Or Repair Story
  • Best Blog or Column (including opinion) – based on 5 examples
  • Best Automotive Heritage Book
  • Best Audio Or Video Story

Rules & Eligibility

Entries must have been printed, streamed, posted, or in any way produced for public consumption during the calendar year 2018. Some category overlap may occur. Entrants will decide what category to enter. Entries must relate in some way to the topic of automotive heritage, but the organizers intent is to be inclusive. Entrants have an opportunity to describe their entry during the submission process, and we encourage that. If the organizers deem an entry ineligible for any reason it will be returned with a refund of the entry fee.

Submitting Entries

Thank you to everyone that participated. Congratulations to the Awards Recipients on July 29th, 2018 during the Concours d’Elegance of America at St. John’s in Plymouth, Michigan. Stay tuned for the 2019 awards announcements.

The Future Collectible Vehicle of the Year Award

The Awards Program

The Trustees at the National Automotive History Collection of the Detroit Public Library created this award more than a decade ago. Veteran Ford PR guy, prolific author, and NAHC Trustee, Mike Davis, along with others on the Board, created this award to speculate on what we might see at car shows 25 years in the future

Award Critera

An NAHC committee comes up with eligible vehicles – new during the previous calendar year, costing less than $100,000 and available in the U.S. The NAHC members choose the winner.

The AHA Concept Vehicle of the Year Award

The Awards Program

Automakers tease the public with concept vehicles at motor shows around the world. Sometimes it is something destined for production, though probably a bit declawed for the market. Some are wild, crazy and on the edge of reality. Some don’t even have powertrains. Those are called “design exercises” and will not be part of this category. Typically, vehicle of the year competitions set calendar year parameters that don’t reflect the reality of the fall-through-spring show season. Ours will cover the auto show season – fall through spring.

Award Critera

We will identify concept vehicles presented at the past season’s shows – cars, trucks, CUVs, SUVs, or mixed genre –  introduced at the major motor shows in the U.S. during the 2018-2019 show season.

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award

The 2018 AHA Lifetime Achievement Award honored beloved auto and motorcycle magazine columnist Peter Egan. Veteran auto journalist and Lifetime Achievement Award winner himself, Tony Swan offered a moving testimonial at the event.

The Awards Program

The Lifetime Achievement Award, historically presented by the International Automotive Media Competition (progenitor of our program), honored a person within the broadest definition of automotive journalism. The AHA Lifetime Achievement Award narrows the focus to those involved in heritage automotive journalism and we consider that a broad definition.

Award Critera

Nominations will be received through this Website and also generated by the committee. Nominator should include a brief biography, list of accomplishments and accolades earned over his/her career. Nominator should explain why this person should receive the award. Self-nominations are welcome. No fee is required for the nomination.

The Awards

Alex Buchan, renowned automobile fine art sculptor will craft the awards for the ceremony.

Learn More
alexander buchan automotive heritage awards

2018 Automotive Heritage Awards Sponsors